A Little Bit of Change

Hey, Sky Fans!

Thanks for stopping by. Usually, Wednesday is “Word of the Week” day around here, but lately, things are a little bit in flux. With the work I’m doing on the Word of the Month column for Sky At Night, I’m having a little bit of a hard time figuring out a way to do similar things here and there without doing the same thing in both places or limiting myself in one place or the other. You know what I mean? I really want to knock the ball out of the park with that column, but this place here, all of you, is my first love. Yep, even more than my wife and kids.

My hope is to be able to do both. There, as well as here, though maybe not every week. “Word of the Once In A While” has a nice ring, doesn’t it? I have a couple of good ones on my list, and maybe I can figure it out sooner than later. Maybe tomorrow, maybe not. As my wife says, sometimes all you need to do is talk about a problem, and it works itself out.Β  I hope she’s right, and let’s hope this is the worst news you’ll read all day. I’ll figure it out, but didn’t want to leave you in the cold.

Speaking of the cold and things changing, here we are in August again. If you’re in the northern hemiphere, and you needed any more proof that summer is fleeting, in early August, the sun sets where I live about two minutes earlier each day than the day before.

This weekend, August 6, if my math is right (probably not), is the mid-point of the north’s summer, measuring from June’s solstice to September’s equinox. From then on, we’ll have fewer long summer sunsets, fewer sideways glances at the people running carnival games, and fewer fireflies ahead of us than we have behind us. Today, it’s only 144 shopping days until Christmas.

Weekend at Ernie's
Weekend at Ernie’s

By August 13, the Sun will set before 8:00 for the first time since May 9, and, I guess, marks the point when the local swimming pools and parks will close because dark will come before closing time. Only a couple weeks later it will be dark before my family finishes eating dinner. The Oktoberfest beers, which, incidentally, are brewed in March, are already on the shelves.

I don’t love summer, I’m a fall guy (though, not The Fall Guy), but there’s something about this that makes me try even harder to slow down a little, and squeeze in that extra cannonball, and think about getting away, even just for a night.Β  There’s still time to head to the beach!

For the moment, though, it’s still hot and thick, with thunder rumbling. So, I’m going head out, grab my kids, and see if I can get them to buy me ice cream before the storms come. Remember, it’s only 321 days until the summer starts again.

Clear skies, everyone!

8 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Change

    1. Thanks, Maria… for now, I think you’re right, but it’s just the Word of the Week part I’m trying to work through. The rest will be easy, once the crazed summer camp chauffering ends. I appreciate your help with the sharing and all.

      As far as my wife, yeah, she’s usually right.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

