As A Storm Moved In

Hey, everyone! Happy Friday, and happy Pride Month. I hope everyone has a great weekend and month ahead. It’s been a tough week, I say trying very hard to keep politics out of this website. Hopefully next week will be just a little better.

The other day, I went out to have a look at the sky after a busy, blue-skied day. The skies were quickly clouding over as a storm moved in from the west, the first real summer-style thunderstorm of the year. I love a good thunderstorm, and it was great to sit outside and watch low clouds swirl in and turn the clear sky cloudy. Before the rain started, and with the sky rumbling, I set up my tripod and and grabbed a couple of photos that I wanted to share.

These are all 15-second exposures at ISO400 with my Canon Powershot Elph on a flimsy tripod that I really need to work on.

The Moon in Leo, May 31, 2017
The Moon in Leo, May 31, 2017

That’s the Moon in the constellation Leo, with clouds moving in to surround them. It’s a little washed out, but you can see the famous sickle-shaped or backward question mark-shaped, asterism that marks Leo’s head in the middle part of the photo, to the right of the Moon. The flare coming out of the Moon at about the three o’clock position cuts across the sickle. The bright star just to the right of the Moon, at the bottom of the sickle, is Leo’s brightest, Regulus, about 80 light years away.Up toward the far upper-left you can see Denebola, Leo’s second brightest, about 35 light years off.

As I took that photo, the skies to the west were flashing.

The Moon, Leo, and Storm Clouds May 31, 2017
The Moon, Leo, and Storm Clouds May 31, 2017

It’s a little blurry because I didn’t adjust the focus doodad before I pressed the go button. The blurriness, though, helps the sickle stand out a bit in the upper left. Along the bottom, particularly toward the bottom right, you can see the clouds glowing from the flashes of lighting.

Here’s a little bit of a different angle. The lower part is cut off, but the stars are less blurry.

The Moon, Leo, and Storm Clouds, May 31, 2017
The Moon, Leo, and Storm Clouds, May 31, 2017

Before long, the storm made its way to my house and everything changed, but for those few minutes, it was something else.

Have a great weekend, and clear skies everyone!

2 thoughts on “As A Storm Moved In

    1. Yeah, my little digital camera has a little bit of manual focusing control, but not much, and it’s a little hard to get to, so I forget. I’m a old timey user of film, so I’m with you about manual focus. It and a wind lever are good for the soul. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

