Five Craters Named for Women

Hey, everyone. This is an idea that came out of a different writing project I did years ago. I’ve been thinking about using it here for a while, too. No time like the present. So, in honor of Women’s History Month:

Five Women with Moon Craters Named Them:

  1. Caroline Herschel: German astronomer and comet hunter during the 1700s and 1800s. She discovered, among others, comet 35P/Herschel-Rigollet. William Herschel, who discovered Uranus, was her brother.
  2. Williamina Fleming: Scottish-American astronomer who worked the Henry Draper Catalog. She cataloged over 10,000 stars, discovered novae, variable stars, and nebulae. Among the nebulae she found is the Horsehead Nebula.
  3. Henrietta Swan Leavitt: American astronomer who discovered the relationship between the luminosity and the period of Cepheid variable stars, which is known as Leavitt’s Law. This allowed Cepheids to be used as “standard candles” for measuring distances to very far-off objects. For instance, Edwin Hubble used Cepheid’s (and her work) to learn that the Andromeda Nebula was, in fact, not a nebula at all, but its own galaxy, distant and separate from the Milky Way, which meant that our Milky Way wasn’t the entire universe.
  4. Christa McAuliffe: American teacher, who died in the Space Shuttle Challenger (STS-51-L) disaster on January 28, 1986. She was to become the first American civilian in space.
  5. Nicole-Reine Lepaute: French astronomer who predicted the return of Halley’s Comet, catalogued stars, and charted the timing of a solar eclipse in 1764.
9 thoughts on “Five Craters Named for Women

    1. Thanks for the tip. I’m often reminded of how Neil Degrasse Tyson’s Cosmos made a point of showing the important role women have played in science. I have two young daughters and are doing all I can to encourage them toward an interest in STEM. I haven’t heard of that book. I’ll look for it the next time I’m at the library. Maybe I can share it with my older daughter who reads like there’s no tomorrow.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. This was a great post! As an educator, it is always so thrilling to hear parents who strive to introduce STEM to their children. Have you and your family ever been to the McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center in New Hampshire?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks… and thanks for the encouragement. It’s tough to push the STEM just enough, but not too much.

      No, never been. I’ve heard, possibly from you, that it’s great. I’d like to go. I have some famly up in that direction, so I might try to see them soon and make the extra trip to the McAuliffe Center.

      I’d also love to see a new season of Cosmos. Have you ever seen Carl Sagan’s original? More than a new season with Dr. Tyson, I’d love to see Dr. Sagan’s again. I haven’t checked in a long time, but it looks to have been pulled from all of the big online sites. Sigh… looks like I’ll have to go and spend time at the library… again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

