On a Mote of Dust

Hi, everyone. Happy Friday. I wasn’t sure I was going to post anything today. It’s hard to find the right path sometimes. As it is, I’m spending a lot of time today just thinking about things. If there has been a day recently when I could really use a break in, a break from, the clouds, today’s the day. It’s not looking good, though. While I love clouds, too, the stars would be nice tonight. I try to keep politics out of what I write here, but today it’s hard. Even if we only look at things from the perspective of a fan of astronomy and science, and ignore all the rest, it’s hard to be optimistic. We have to hope.

It’s cliche by now, especially for those of you who know me personally, but I figured today’s a good day to spend a little time with Dr. Sagan.

I’ve always loved that speech, especially the “The Earth is a very small stage in a vast cosmic arena” line. The warm, guiding power that Dr. Sagan had to bring these points home is remarkable, and the more remarkable it becomes each time I listen, each time I read.

It’s not from that, but I’m also reminded of “We wish to find the truth, no matter where it lies. But to find the truth we need imagination and skepticism both. We will not be afraid to speculate, but we will be careful to distinguish speculation from fact.”

I’m going to go for a walk in the woods, spend a little extra time with a book, visit a couple of small, nearby shops I like, and then chase my kids when we’re all home. On it goes.

Have a great weekend, and, please, clear skies, everyone. Hopefully the the Pleiades will be in your sky later.

7 thoughts on “On a Mote of Dust

  1. In recent years, whenever I read the “mote of dust” Sagan referred to, I can’t help but to remember the great photo the Cassinni craft took a couple of years back, the Pale Bue Dot picture, while circling Saturn’s rings.

    Sagan succinct description of our world is timeless, and to my opinion one of the best phrases ever said by a human being when referring to our home planet.

    Below the link to the saturn pale blu dot picture
    https://science.nasa.gov/science-news/science-at-nasa/2013/23jul_palebluedot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah… They’re my favorite thing in the sky. I love the astronomy, the physics, the mythology. I love when they appear in the fall and love watching them travel into the spring. Naked eye, binoculars, it’s hard to top them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Aldebaran. One of my favorite stars. I’m working on a newspaper article about it, the Hyades cluster, and the Pleiades. I can’t get enough of that corner of the sky. The moon is going to occult Aldebaran again for much of North America, in early March.

    Like

Leave a Reply

