Farewell, John Glenn

Hi, everyone. It’s a sad day today. Senator John Glenn has died; he was 95. Sen. Glenn was the last living member of America’s original Mercury 7 astronauts. With his passing, the last link to the heroic dawn of the American Space Age is gone. He became the first American to orbit the Earth, the third American in space, when he flew his Friendship 7 spacecraft in February 1962. In 1998, while still serving as a U.S. senator from Ohio, he became the oldest person in space when, at 77, he flew aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery on STS-95.

62ma6-55
John Glenn with his Friendship 7 spacecraft (From NASA)

I don’t have much first-hand memory of him. I’m too young to remember the Mercury program, but I remember smiling when my grandfather, who used to tell me stories about him, called to tell me the news that he’d be flying in space again. I always loved the way he was portrayed in Tom Wolfe’s book “The Right Stuff” and by Ed Harris in the movie. If you have any memories of him, I’d love to hear them.

In this year that has taken so many great people, it’s sad he’s gone now, too.

Farewell, Senator, and thank you.

2 thoughts on “Farewell, John Glenn

  1. He led a full life dedicated to the right stuff. I have many memories from watching his flights and later accomplishments. They were inspiring.

    The one personal memory came in the mid-1980s during a tour of the Capitol by our representative Dennis Hastert. We boarded the Capitol Subway train to go between buildings. There was John Glenn in the next car to us. He was busy and didn’t notice me. But, I remember seeing him that day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

