Two Photos of Taurus

Hey, everyone. What a gorgeous night. We’ve had a couple over the last few days. Just the other night, while a’ huntin’ for some Taurid meteors, I was able to convince my little pocket camera to grab this shot for me. Here are the constellations Taurus the bull and Auriga the charioteer as seen from my front yard.

The constellations Taurus and Auriga, November 5, 2016
The constellations Taurus and Auriga, November 5, 2016

That’s at ISO 400.

Here’s it is again, the same scene, but at ISO 1600, so four times as much light:

The constellations Taurus and Auriga, November 5, 2016
The constellations Taurus and Auriga, November 5, 2016

No story to tell tonight, just a quiet shot of a quiet night under the skies. I love being able to see the Pleiades watching from overhead, and the bright red Aldebaran is always a sight. The Hyades, which is the closest open star cluster to Earth, is that V-shaped, or, as it is here, >-shaped group of stars toward the middle-bottom. Along with Capella, a third of the Winter Circle is up by mid-evening now, especially with us having more night now that we did even a week ago.

You know, I still shoot film most of the time, but it’s really handy having this camera in my pocket for nights like these.

Clear skies, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Two Photos of Taurus

    1. Thanks… yeah, I was surprised, actually. When I first looked at it, I thought it looked washed out and noisy, as higer-ISO shots tend to be, especially on these little cameras. I like the first shot a bit better, it looks more realistic, but the lower one’s good, too. It’s too bad there’s so much light pollution from the street lamps in my neighborhood.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

